The Ngorongoro Conservancy is a conservation area located 185 km west of Arusha in the Highlands area of Tanzania. Ngorongoro Crater, a large volcanic caldera within the area, is recognized as one of the Seven Natural Wonders of Africa.

The conservation area is administered by the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority. The crater floor is home to up to 25,000 large mammals, mainly grazers – gazelles, buffalo, eland, hartebeest and warthog. You will not find giraffe since there is little to eat at tree level, nor Topi, because the competition with wildebeest is huge.  There are also a good number of black rhinos found here. 

The south and west of the area are volcanic highlands, including the famous Ngorongoro Crater and the lesser known Empakai. The southern and eastern boundaries are approximately defined by the rim of the Great Rift Valley wall, which also prevents animal migration in these directions.

In the northern, remote part of the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, you will find Olemoti  and Empakaai craters as well as a view of Lake Natron and Oldonyo Lengai.

Ngorongoro Conservancy Lodges and Tented Camps:

  • Ngorongoro serena lodge
  • Ngorongoro sopa lodge
  • Ngorongoro crater lodge
  • Ngorongoro forest tented camp
  • Ngorongoro wildlife lodge
  • Ndutu safari lodge
  • Bougainvillea safari lodge
  • Rhino safari lodge                                          
  • Exploreans Ngorongoro Safari lodge
  • Kirurumu Ngorongoro camp                     
  • Ngorongoro farm house
  • Ngorongoro migration camp